Skip to content

Stallion or Native Update

Hosted OTA updates for React Native with a 10,000 MAU free plan.

  1. Compare
  2. Stallion

Check Stallion yourself (opens in a new tab)

Who each one suits

Better served by Stallion

Choose Stallion if you ship React Native and want a free plan with 10,000 MAU, rollback logs and an on-premise option for later.

Better served by Native Update

Choose Native Update if your app is Capacitor and you want signed bundles, percentage rollouts and channels as named features, with the in-app update and review flows included.

What it costs

Stallion

PlanPriceTermsWhere it says so
Free$010,000 MAU, 50 GB download/monthSource (opens in a new tab)
Pro$51 a monthpage shows $64 crossed out beside $51/month; 100,000 MAU, 2 TB download/monthSource (opens in a new tab)
EnterpriseNo price listedQuote only; 1,000,000+ MAUSource (opens in a new tab)
On-PremiseNo price listedQuote onlySource (opens in a new tab)

Native Update

PlanPriceTerms
Free$030 apps, 5,000 monthly active users
Pro$9.99 a monthUnlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users
Team$8.99 per seat a monthUnlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum

Feature by feature

Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.

FeatureStallionNative Update
Over-the-air web bundle updatesYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Signed bundles, verified on the deviceNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to startNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Roll back from the dashboard or CLIYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Rollout to a percentage of devicesPartlySource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Channels (development, staging, production)Not stated on the pages we checkedYes
Delta updatesNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Your own server or self-hostingPartlySource (opens in a new tab)Yes
In-app store update flowNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
In-app review promptNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Background update checksNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
CLI plus HTTP management APINot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Capacitor appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
React Native appsYesSource (opens in a new tab)No
Flutter appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Native Android and iOS appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Free planYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes

Where Native Update stops

Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.

Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.

If your app isn’t Capacitor, we can’t serve it. Stallion is the one to read next.

On Stallion today?

We don’t serve that stack, so there’s no move to make. The docs page sets out how the two differ and where to start if your next app is Capacitor.

These facts come from Stallion’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.