Skip to content

Shorebird or Native Update

Code push for Flutter apps, from people who worked on Flutter.

  1. Compare
  2. Shorebird

Check Shorebird yourself (opens in a new tab)

Who each one suits

Better served by Shorebird

Choose Shorebird if your app is Flutter: it patches compiled Dart, which no web-bundle updater can do, and its free plan covers 5,000 patch installs a month.

Better served by Native Update

Choose Native Update if your app is Capacitor and you want percentage rollouts as a dashboard setting rather than logic you write, plus the store update flow and review prompt in the same plugin.

What it costs

Shorebird

PlanPriceTermsWhere it says so
Hobby$05,000 patch installs/monthSource (opens in a new tab)
Pro$20 a month$240 billed yearly; 50,000 patch installs/month, $1 per 2,500 overSource (opens in a new tab)
Business$400 a month$4,800 billed yearly; 1,000,000 patch installs/monthSource (opens in a new tab)
EnterpriseNo price listedQuote onlySource (opens in a new tab)

Native Update

PlanPriceTerms
Free$030 apps, 5,000 monthly active users
Pro$9.99 a monthUnlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users
Team$8.99 per seat a monthUnlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum

Feature by feature

Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.

FeatureShorebirdNative Update
Over-the-air web bundle updatesYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Signed bundles, verified on the deviceYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to startPartlySource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Roll back from the dashboard or CLIYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Rollout to a percentage of devicesPartlySource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Channels (development, staging, production)YesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Delta updatesNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Your own server or self-hostingNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
In-app store update flowNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
In-app review promptNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Background update checksNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
CLI plus HTTP management APIPartlySource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Capacitor appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
React Native appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Flutter appsYesSource (opens in a new tab)No
Native Android and iOS appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Free planYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes

Where Native Update stops

Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.

Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.

If your app isn’t Capacitor, we can’t serve it. Shorebird is the one to read next.

On Shorebird today?

We don’t serve that stack, so there’s no move to make. The docs page sets out how the two differ and where to start if your next app is Capacitor.

These facts come from Shorebird’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.