Ionic Appflow or Native Update
Ionic's hosted build and live update service, no longer sold to new customers.
- Compare
- Ionic Appflow
Who each one suits
Better served by Ionic Appflow
Choose Ionic Appflow if you are already a customer and want to keep its live updates and cloud builds running until access ends on December 31, 2027.
Better served by Native Update
Choose Native Update if you need a service you can sign up for today, with a free plan and signed bundles.
What it costs
Ionic Appflow
| Plan | Price | Terms | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|
| All plans | No price listed | Quote only; new customer sales discontinued 2025-02-11, existing customers keep access through 2027-12-31 | Source (opens in a new tab) |
Native Update
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum |
Feature by feature
Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.
| Feature | Ionic Appflow | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | PartlySource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Delta updates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | PartlySource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| React Native apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Free plan | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
Where Native Update stops
Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.
Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.
Moving from Ionic Appflow
Both sit inside a Capacitor app, so the move is a package swap, a signing key and one release. The docs walk through it.
These facts come from Ionic Appflow’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.