Hot Updater or Native Update
A self-hosted OTA updater for React Native that runs on your own cloud account.
- Compare
- Hot Updater
Who each one suits
Better served by Hot Updater
Choose Hot Updater if you ship React Native or Expo, want no vendor in the path, and are happy to run the update backend on Supabase, Cloudflare, AWS, Firebase, Vercel or Azure yourself.
Better served by Native Update
Choose Native Update if your app is Capacitor and you want a hosted service with a free plan, signed and verified bundles, and the in-app update and review flows without running your own backend.
What it costs
Hot Updater
| Plan | Price | Terms | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|
| Self-hosted | $0 | MIT license with a condition for hosted resale; you pay your own cloud bills | Source (opens in a new tab) |
Native Update
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum |
Feature by feature
Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.
| Feature | Hot Updater | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Delta updates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| React Native apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Free plan | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
Where Native Update stops
Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.
Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.
If your app isn’t Capacitor, we can’t serve it. Hot Updater is the one to read next.
On Hot Updater today?
We don’t serve that stack, so there’s no move to make. The docs page sets out how the two differ and where to start if your next app is Capacitor.
These facts come from Hot Updater’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.