Expo EAS Update or Native Update
Expo's hosted update service for React Native apps built with expo-updates.
- Compare
- Expo EAS Update
Who each one suits
Better served by Expo EAS Update
Choose EAS Update if your app is built on Expo: branches, channels, percentage rollouts and rollbacks are already wired into the toolchain you use for builds.
Better served by Native Update
Choose Native Update if your app is Capacitor, you want signed bundles on every plan rather than from $199, and you want 50,000 MAU at a flat $9.99 instead of a base fee plus per-MAU usage.
What it costs
Expo EAS Update
| Plan | Price | Terms | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1,000 MAU included | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Starter | $19 a month | plus usage; 3,000 MAU included, then $0.005 per MAU tiered down | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Production | $199 a month | plus usage; 50,000 MAU included | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Enterprise | No price listed | Quote only | Source (opens in a new tab) |
Native Update
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum |
Feature by feature
Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.
| Feature | Expo EAS Update | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | PartlySource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Delta updates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| React Native apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Free plan | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
Where Native Update stops
Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.
Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.
If your app isn’t Capacitor, we can’t serve it. Expo EAS Update is the one to read next.
On Expo EAS Update today?
We don’t serve that stack, so there’s no move to make. The docs page sets out how the two differ and where to start if your next app is Capacitor.
These facts come from Expo EAS Update’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.