Codemagic Patch or Native Update
Codemagic's OTA update service for React Native, offered hosted and self-hosted.
- Compare
- Codemagic Patch
Who each one suits
Better served by Codemagic Patch
Choose Codemagic Patch if you ship React Native, already build on Codemagic, and want 100K MAU free on the hosted service or a Docker Compose install you run yourself.
Better served by Native Update
Choose Native Update if your app is Capacitor and you want bundles signed and verified on the device, delta updates, and the store update and review flows in the same plugin.
What it costs
Codemagic Patch
| Plan | Price | Terms | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hosted Patch | $0 | first 100K MAU free, then $99/month per additional 100K MAU | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Self-hosted | No price listed | Quote only; price not stated on the Patch page | Source (opens in a new tab) |
Native Update
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum |
Feature by feature
Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.
| Feature | Codemagic Patch | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | PartlySource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Delta updates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | PartlySource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| React Native apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Free plan | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
Where Native Update stops
Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.
Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.
If your app isn’t Capacitor, we can’t serve it. Codemagic Patch is the one to read next.
On Codemagic Patch today?
We don’t serve that stack, so there’s no move to make. The docs page sets out how the two differ and where to start if your next app is Capacitor.
These facts come from Codemagic Patch’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.