Microsoft code-push-server or Native Update
The standalone CodePush server Microsoft published when App Center retired; archived and read-only.
- Compare
- Microsoft code-push-server
Check Microsoft code-push-server yourself (opens in a new tab)
Who each one suits
Better served by Microsoft code-push-server
Choose code-push-server if you still run the React Native CodePush client and want to keep it working on your own infrastructure at no license cost.
Better served by Native Update
Choose Native Update if you want a maintained service: the repository is archived, while Native Update ships a plugin with signing, rollback, rollouts and the store flows.
What it costs
Microsoft code-push-server
| Plan | Price | Terms | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|
| Self-hosted | $0 | MIT; repository archived 2025-05-20; hosted App Center CodePush retired 2025-03-31 | Source (opens in a new tab) |
Native Update
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum |
Feature by feature
Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.
| Feature | Microsoft code-push-server | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Delta updates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| React Native apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Free plan | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
Where Native Update stops
Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.
Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.
If your app isn’t Capacitor, we can’t serve it. Microsoft code-push-server is the one to read next.
On Microsoft code-push-server today?
We don’t serve that stack, so there’s no move to make. The docs page sets out how the two differ and where to start if your next app is Capacitor.
These facts come from Microsoft code-push-server’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.