Skip to content

Capgo or Native Update

Hosted live updates for Capacitor apps, with an open source stack you can run yourself.

  1. Compare
  2. Capgo

Check Capgo yourself (opens in a new tab)

Who each one suits

Better served by Capgo

Choose Capgo if you want a Capacitor updater whose whole stack is open source, with end-to-end encrypted bundles and a rollout policy that can pause or roll back on a failure threshold.

Better served by Native Update

Choose Native Update if you want a free plan instead of a 14-day trial, 50,000 MAU at $9.99, and the store update flow and in-app review prompt in the same plugin as your live updates.

What it costs

Capgo

PlanPriceTermsWhere it says so
Solo$14 a month$146 billed yearly; 2,000 MAU, 100 GiB/monthSource (opens in a new tab)
Maker$39 a month$396 billed yearly; 10,000 MAUSource (opens in a new tab)
Team$99 a month$998 billed yearly; 100,000 MAUSource (opens in a new tab)
Enterprise$249 a monthfrom $249/mo; 1,000,000+ MAUSource (opens in a new tab)
Pay as you go$5 once$5 prepaid credits valid 12 months; no subscriptionSource (opens in a new tab)

Native Update

PlanPriceTerms
Free$030 apps, 5,000 monthly active users
Pro$9.99 a monthUnlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users
Team$8.99 per seat a monthUnlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum

Feature by feature

Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.

FeatureCapgoNative Update
Over-the-air web bundle updatesYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Signed bundles, verified on the deviceYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to startYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Roll back from the dashboard or CLIYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Rollout to a percentage of devicesYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Channels (development, staging, production)YesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Delta updatesYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
Your own server or self-hostingYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
In-app store update flowNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
In-app review promptNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Background update checksNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
CLI plus HTTP management APINot stated on the pages we checkedYes
Capacitor appsYesSource (opens in a new tab)Yes
React Native appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Flutter appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Native Android and iOS appsNot stated on the pages we checkedNo
Free planNoSource (opens in a new tab)Yes

Where Native Update stops

Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.

Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.

Moving from Capgo

Both sit inside a Capacitor app, so the move is a package swap, a signing key and one release. The docs walk through it.

These facts come from Capgo’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.