Capawesome Cloud Live Updates or Native Update
Live updates for Capacitor, Ionic and Cordova apps from the Capawesome plugin team.
- Compare
- Capawesome Cloud Live Updates
Check Capawesome Cloud Live Updates yourself (opens in a new tab)
Who each one suits
Better served by Capawesome Cloud Live Updates
Choose Capawesome Cloud if you already build on the Capawesome plugin set and want signed bundles, percentage rollouts and the option to host bundles on your own CDN at $9 a month.
Better served by Native Update
Choose Native Update if you want a free plan with every feature, one plugin that also runs the Play update flow and the review prompt, and a server contract you can implement yourself end to end.
What it costs
Capawesome Cloud Live Updates
| Plan | Price | Terms | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $9 a month | $90 yearly; 1K MAU, 100 GB transfer | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Professional | $29 a month | $290 yearly; 10K MAU, 1 TB | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Team | $79 a month | $790 yearly; 50K MAU, 3 TB | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Business | $249 a month | $2,490 yearly; 250K MAU, 10 TB | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Enterprise | No price listed | Quote only | Source (opens in a new tab) |
Native Update
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum |
Feature by feature
Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.
| Feature | Capawesome Cloud Live Updates | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Delta updates | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | PartlySource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| React Native apps | NoSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | NoSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Free plan | NoSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
Where Native Update stops
Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.
Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.
Moving from Capawesome Cloud Live Updates
Both sit inside a Capacitor app, so the move is a package swap, a signing key and one release. The docs walk through it.
These facts come from Capawesome Cloud Live Updates’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.