Capawesome App Update and App Review plugins or Native Update
Two free MIT Capacitor plugins: one runs the Play in-app update flow, the other the native review dialog.
- Compare
- Capawesome App Update and App Review plugins
Check Capawesome App Update and App Review plugins yourself (opens in a new tab)
Who each one suits
Better served by Capawesome App Update and App Review plugins
Choose the Capawesome plugins if you only need the Play update flow and the review prompt, with no live update service, and prefer two small MIT packages.
Better served by Native Update
Choose Native Update if you want those two flows and live updates behind one TypeScript surface, so one install and one config cover the whole release desk.
What it costs
Capawesome App Update and App Review plugins
| Plan | Price | Terms | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plugins | $0 | MIT on npm; no live update service in these two packages | Source (opens in a new tab) |
Native Update
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum |
Feature by feature
Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.
| Feature | Capawesome App Update and App Review plugins | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | NoSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Delta updates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| React Native apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Free plan | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
Where Native Update stops
Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.
Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.
Moving from Capawesome App Update and App Review plugins
Both sit inside a Capacitor app, so the move is a package swap, a signing key and one release. The docs walk through it.
These facts come from Capawesome App Update and App Review plugins’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.