AppsOnAir or Native Update
A mobile toolkit with CodePush-style releases, build distribution, force update and push, with SDKs for Android, iOS, Flutter and React Native.
- Compare
- AppsOnAir
Who each one suits
Better served by AppsOnAir
Choose AppsOnAir if you want one SDK across native, Flutter and React Native that also distributes test builds, forces a critical update and sends push, with a free tier to start.
Better served by Native Update
Choose Native Update if your app is Capacitor and you want signed bundles, automatic rollback, percentage rollouts and a plan price that is stated once and plainly.
What it costs
AppsOnAir
| Plan | Price | Terms | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 10 CodePush releases/month, 1,000 bundle downloads/month, 1 app | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Pro | No price listed | Quote only: the page shows more than one monthly figure for this plan; 500,000 bundle downloads/month | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Pro Plus | No price listed | Quote only: the page shows more than one monthly figure for this plan; 2,000,000 bundle downloads/month | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Enterprise | No price listed | Quote only | Source (opens in a new tab) |
Native Update
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum |
Feature by feature
Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.
| Feature | AppsOnAir | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Delta updates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | PartlySource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | PartlySource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| React Native apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Flutter apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Free plan | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
Where Native Update stops
Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.
Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.
If your app isn’t Capacitor, we can’t serve it. AppsOnAir is the one to read next.
On AppsOnAir today?
We don’t serve that stack, so there’s no move to make. The docs page sets out how the two differ and where to start if your next app is Capacitor.
These facts come from AppsOnAir’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.