Appcircle CodePush or Native Update
An OTA update module inside the Appcircle CI/CD platform for React Native, hosted or self-hosted.
- Compare
- Appcircle CodePush
Who each one suits
Better served by Appcircle CodePush
Choose Appcircle CodePush if your React Native team wants OTA updates, rollout percentages and rollbacks inside the same platform that builds and distributes the app, including on Kubernetes or OpenShift.
Better served by Native Update
Choose Native Update if your app is Capacitor and you want a published price, signed bundles and the in-app update and review flows without adopting a whole CI/CD platform.
What it costs
Appcircle CodePush
| Plan | Price | Terms | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | No price listed | Quote only; listed as Always Free, annual licensing, no amounts published | Source (opens in a new tab) |
| Corporate | No price listed | Quote only | Source (opens in a new tab) |
Native Update
| Plan | Price | Terms |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 apps, 5,000 monthly active users |
| Pro | $9.99 a month | Unlimited apps, 50,000 monthly active users |
| Team | $8.99 per seat a month | Unlimited apps, 100,000 monthly active users per member, 3 seats minimum |
Feature by feature
Their column comes from their pages. Ours comes from the plugin and the service as they ship today.
| Feature | Appcircle CodePush | Native Update |
|---|---|---|
| Over-the-air web bundle updates | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Signed bundles, verified on the device | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Automatic rollback when a bundle fails to start | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Roll back from the dashboard or CLI | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Rollout to a percentage of devices | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Channels (development, staging, production) | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| Delta updates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Your own server or self-hosting | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
| In-app store update flow | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| In-app review prompt | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Background update checks | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| CLI plus HTTP management API | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Capacitor apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| React Native apps | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | No |
| Flutter apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Native Android and iOS apps | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| Free plan | YesSource (opens in a new tab) | Yes |
Where Native Update stops
Today Native Update supports Capacitor only. React Native, Flutter and native packages are not available yet.
Live updates carry web-layer changes; native changes still ship through the store.
If your app isn’t Capacitor, we can’t serve it. Appcircle CodePush is the one to read next.
On Appcircle CodePush today?
We don’t serve that stack, so there’s no move to make. The docs page sets out how the two differ and where to start if your next app is Capacitor.
These facts come from Appcircle CodePush’s own pages, and they can change without telling us. Their site is the one to trust. Found something out of date? Tell us.